Establishment of the Committee Commission-Limpopo Province

For immediate Release

18 May 2012

Establishment of Provincial Committee of Commission to deal with disputes and claims relating to Traditional Leadership in terms of Section 26A of Traditional Leadership and Governance Framework Act, 2003 (Act 41 of 2003).

The Premier has established the Provincial Committee on Traditional Leadership Disputes and Claims following the announcement in his State of the Province Address and during MEC Motsepe's budget vote. The commission is known as the Kgatla Commission and is under the leadership of Commissioner Ms Ramokone Kgatla who will chair the commission and was appointed at National Level in January 2011 by the Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs in terms of Section 23 of Act 41 of 2003.

The members of the committee are the following:

- 1. Mr. Mashego ML
- 2. Mr. Phatudi MG
- 3. Dr. Shilubana PX
- 4. Mr. Mahosi MT

The establishment of the Committee of the Commission has been published in the Provincial Gazette No. 2071 dated 11 May 2012. It is established with effect from 14 May 2012 and its lifespan will run up to the 31st December 2015. There are over 500 traditional leadership disputes involving headmen and senior traditional leaders province wide and this established commission is charged with the responsibility of resolving all these disputes and claims to the satisfaction of all the parties involved.

The Committee of the Commission will start its work in earnest as from next week and will hold its sittings in all the five districts of Limpopo. More details will be published in national newspapers. These will take place as follows:

Five Districts of Limpopo	
Capricorn	Polokwane Municipality
Vhembe	Vhembe District Chamber
Mopani	Mogalakwena Municipality
Capricorn	Polokwane Municipality

Sekhukhune Tubatse Municipality

A synopsis of terms of reference is as follows:

- 1. To investigate claims and disputes of Traditional Leaders dating back to 1st September 1927 up to 1st April 2006. The latter date is the commencement date of Limpopo Traditional Leadership and Institutions Act No. 6 of 2005, while 1st September 1927 is date of effect of Black Administration Act of 1927. Page 3 of 3
- 2. To investigate boundary disputes of Traditional Leaders.
- 3. To make recommendations to the Premier on disputes of Headmen/Headwomen and Senior Traditional Leader.

Disputes over traditional leadership are divided in the following categories:

- 1. Dispute amongst royal family members over the rightful heir to the throne.
- 2. Dispute by headmen claiming Senior Traditional Leadership status.
- 3. Dispute over boundaries/farms or portions of a farm.

For more information please contact:

Ms Tseng Diale

Mobile: 083 652 5276

Tel: 015 294 5582

E:mail mediaenquiry@limdlgh.gov.za

Commissioner Ramokone Kgatla

 $E: mail: \\ media enquiry@limdlgh.gov.za$

Mobile: 078 115 8536